Introduction - Chapter 1 - Asian Leading Arbitrators' Guide to International Arbitration

Michael C. Pryles
Michael J. Moser
Page Count: 
16 pages
Media Description: 
One PDF download
October, 2007
Author Detail: 

Michael Pryles is the Chairman of the Singapore International Arbitration Center (SIAC). He is the former president of the Australian Centre for International Commercial Arbitration, a member of the International Council of Commercial Arbitration (ICCA), a court member of the London Court of International Arbitration (LCIA) and is Co-Chair of the ICC Asia Arbitration Commission. Mr. Pryles was the foundation president of the Asia Pacific Regional Arbitration Group (APRAG), an association of some 29 arbitral centres and organisations. He was formerly a Commissioner of the United Nations Compensation Commission where he served for over eight years on two panels, chairing one of them. Michael is currently a consultant at the law firm Clayton Utz and was a partner in another leading firm. Before then he was Henry Bournes Higgins Professor of Law at Monash University in Australia.

Michael J. Moser is the Chairman of the Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre (HKIAC) and also serves as Co-Chair of the China Arbitration Forum, Vice President of the Asia Pacific Regional Arbitration Group and a Vice Chair of the Arbitration Committee of the IBA. Mr Moser is a Chartered Arbitrator and has acted as arbitrator or counsel in both ad hoc proceedings under the UNCITRAL Rules and in cases under the rules of the ICC, SIAC, SCC, LCIA, JCAA, AAA and other institutions in Asia, Europe and North America. He is also a member of the panel of arbitrators of CIETAC and was the first foreigner to be appointed as an arbitrator in China. A resident of China for more than 30 years, he speaks fluent Chinese. Mr Moser has written widely in the area of dispute settlement and is General Editor of The Journal of International Arbitration. He is a partner with the firm of O'Melveny & Myers LLP and an adjunct professor at the City University of Hong Kong and the University of Zurich.