ERITREA - ETHIOPIA BOUNDARY COMMISSION

ORDER PURSUANT TO ARTICLE 27 (1) OF THE COMMISSION'S RULES OF PROCEDURE

WHEREAS,

The Commission adopted on 13 April 2002 its Decision Regarding Delimitation of the Border between the State of Eritrea and the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia;

The border as so delimited by the Commission needs to be demarcated, to which end the Commission adopted on 8 July 2002 certain Demarcation Directions;

It is a matter of urgency that the demarcation be accomplished expeditiously;

THE COMMISSION NOW DECIDES, in the exercise of its powers under Article 27 (1) of its Rules of Procedure, to issue the following **ORDER**:

- 1. A Field Office of the Commission shall be established at Adigrat.
- 2. Work in Adigrat, for the construction and equipping of the premises for the use of the Field Office, shall commence as soon as possible so that that office shall begin its work no later than 31 July 2002.
- 3. The Chief Surveyor or the Assistant Chief Surveyor shall oversee the establishment of the Field Office.
- 4. The Chief Surveyor shall ensure that the Field Office is staffed so as to be able to carry out its tasks as he deems appropriate, which shall, in the first instance, include resumption of the surveying of Ground Control Points and the emplacement and survey of secondary datum markers.

5. The Parties shall co-operate immediately with the Commission and its representatives in every aspect of the demarcation process and, to that end, shall provide all necessary assistance to the Commission and its representatives. The Parties shall refrain from hindering or impeding in any way the Commission or its representatives in the performance of their tasks in the fulfilment of the December 2000 Agreement, and in the implementation of the Decision of 13 April 2002 and the Demarcation Directions.

Signed at The Hague, 17 July 2002:



Sir Elihu Lauterpacht, CBE, QC, President

Prince Bola Ajibola, SAN, KBE, CFR

Judge Stephen Schwebel

Sir Arthur Watts, KCMG, QC

Prof. W. Michael Reisman

W. Muchael Ker

Dr. Hiroshi Murakami, Secretary

In Man

Bette E. Shifman, Registrar

Bette E. Alufman