## PERMANENT COURT OF ARBITRATION

## **PRESS RELEASE**

On 11 April 2006 at approximately 16:00 hours in The Hague (GMT+2), the Arbitral Tribunal constituted to establish a maritime boundary between Barbados and the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago under the 1982 United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea ("1982 Convention"), will issue its Award to the Parties.

The arbitral proceedings were initiated by Barbados on 16 February 2004 pursuant to Article 286 and Annex VII of the 1982 Convention. Written pleadings were filed pursuant to the Rules of Procedure adopted by the Arbitral Tribunal, and hearings were held in London in October 2005.

The Arbitral Tribunal constituted to decide the dispute is composed of Judge Stephen M. Schwebel (President), Mr. Ian Brownlie CBE QC, Professor Vaughan Lowe, Professor Francisco Orrego Vicuña, and Sir Arthur Watts, KCMG QC. The Permanent Court of Arbitration serves as registry for the Arbitral Tribunal.

Following delivery of the Award to the Parties, a press release will be issued and will be posted together with the text of the Award and other documents related to the arbitration on the website of the Permanent Court of Arbitration (<u>www.pca-cpa.org</u>).

THE HAGUE 10 April 2006