The American Review of International Arbitration is devoted to the study of laws relating to international arbitration and litigation throughout the world. To that end, it promotes and sponsors the publication of books, commentaries, articles, periodicals and conferences on these subjects.

The Editors-in-Chief of the Review can be reached at:

George A. Bermann, Jean Monnet Professor of EU Law E-mail: gbermann@law.columbia.edu

Robert H. Smit, Adjunct Professor of Law E-mail: rsmit@stblaw.com

Columbia Law School 435 West 116th Street New York, New York 10027 USA Tel: (212) 854-2693; Fax (212) 854-7946

MANUSCRIPTS

The American Review of International Arbitration invites the submission of unsolicited manuscripts. They should be double-spaced with footnotes that conform to the latest edition of *A Uniform System of Citation*. Manuscripts may be submitted as an e-mail attachment in Microsoft Word, or on CD. The *Review* regrets that manuscripts cannot be returned unless they are accompanied by a self-addressed, stamped envelope. Send all correspondence to:

Elizabeth H. Cooper, Managing Editor The American Review of International Arbitration Columbia Law School 435 West 116th Street New York, New York 10027 USA Tel: (212) 854-3971; Fax (212) 854-7946 E-mail: ecooper@law.columbia.edu

SUBSCRIPTION

The *Review* is published quarterly.

The subscription rate is U.S. \$350. All other foreign subscriptions \$395 and are renewed automatically unless notice of termination is given.

Address changes should be sent at least 45 days before the date of the issue with which they are to take effect. Subscription queries and address changes should be directed to:

JurisNet, LLC 71 New Street Huntington, NY 11743 USA Tel (631) 350-2100; Fax (631) 673-9117

ISSN 1050-4109 Copyright © 2012 by George A. Bermann, Robert H. Smit and JurisNet, LLC

THE AMERICAN REVIEW OF INTERNATIONAL ARBITRATION

Vol. XXIII – 2012

New York

2012

THE AMERICAN REVIEW OF INTERNATIONAL ARBITRATION

Vol. 23	2012	No. 1

ARTICLES

THE ERRORS OF COMITY: FORUM NON CONVENIENS RETURNS TO THE SECOND CIRCUIT	Alan Scott Rau	1
MANDATORY RULES AND INTERNATIONAL ARBITRATION	Luca G. Radicati di Brozolo	49
THE NON-ENFORCEABILITY OF DECISIONS Rendered in Summary Arbitral Proceedings Pursuant to the NAI Rules Under the New York Convention	Stefan Kröll	75
Court Litigation over Arbitration Agreement Is It Time for a New Default Rule?	rs: Jack Graves	113
Investment Treaty Law and International Law	Matthew T. Parish and Charles B. Rosenberg	137
EFFICIENCY IN INTERNATIONAL ARBITRATION: AN ECONOMIC APPROACH	Robert B. Kovacs	155

*A cumulative table of contents for Volume 23 will appear at the back of the final issue of the year.

THE AMERICAN REVIEW OF INTERNATIONAL ARBITRATION

EDITORS-IN-CHIEF

GEORGE A. BERMANN ROBERT H. SMIT

MANAGING EDITOR

ELIZABETH H. COOPER

SENIOR STUDENT EDITORS

LAUREL FENSTERSTOCK, VAIBHAV JAIN, ALEXANDRA KELLY, JUSTIN LI, JENNIFER LIM, DELPHINE PAPAUD, MICHELLE PHAM, VIRGINIA SCOTT, LEE SILVER, BRITTANI YRIARTE

STUDENT EDITORS

Aurore Bouyer, Corinne Champilou, Lisa Fletcher, Lelise Gobena, Michael Hofer, Senami Houndete, Chao Huang, Kyndra Jamison, Ramin Montazeri, Christina Schmidt, Meera Sitaram, Giovanni Smedley, Nicholas Teijeiro, Fennie Wang, Chapmann Wong, Chuan Tat Yeo

BOARD OF ADVISORS

GIORGIO BERNINI	Honorary President, International Council for Commercial Arbitration
HORACIO A. GRIGERA NAÓN	N International Arbitrator and Legal Consultant
BERNARD HANOTIAU	Partner, Hanotiau & van den Berg, Brussels
J. MARTIN H. HUNTER	Barrister, London and Professor, Nottingham Law School
NEIL KAPLAN	Past Chair, Hong Kong International Arbitration Centre
SERGEI N. LEBEDEV	President, Maritime Arbitration Commission, Moscow
PIERRE MAYER	Professor, Université de Paris I Sorbonne, Paris
WERNER MELIS	Chair, Arbitral Centre of the Federal Economic Chamber, Vienna
MICHAEL C. PRYLES	Chairman, Singapore International Arbitration Centre
OTTO SANDROCK	Professor, University of Muenster
TOSHIO SAWADA	Permanent Advisor, Japan Association of Arbitrators
VINCENZO VIGORITI	Professor, University of Florence